Certified McKenzie Spine and Extremity Clinic ®

Ratings & Reviews

Add A Review

Rated 5/5 based on 7 customer reviews
Oct 13, 2019
From Google
"I went to Maccio after a failed round of physical therapy at a different office a few months prior. I was not optimistic but saw improvements in my lower back after only a few visits. They use the McKenzie method but tailor it to meet your specific needs. I had persistent pain on my lower left side that made daily tasks difficult, among driving and playing with my kid, as well as uncomfortable, sleepless nights. After 3 months I can thankfully say I'm back to 95% daily, and can get the slight pains to go away with a few exercises they taught me. I would recommend this place to anyone, and have to many people already."
Aug 25, 2019
From Google
"Amazing and caring staff - they work miracles!"
Aug 19, 2019
From Google
"They gave me some exercises and worked with me to get my lingering knee pain sorted out in a matter of weeks. Now I'm back to ice hockey, hiking and my regular workouts without any issues. I'd originally found the office after shoulder surgery for a litany of standard problems, and kept thinking if I'd seen them first my ordeal might have been less; but they made my recovery speedy and thorough. When my knee issues got restrictive I made the call, and couldn't have been happier."
Aug 09, 2019
From Google
"Great staff. Came to them with a calf muscle injury that may have needed surgery. After a few weeks of physical therapy here, the injury healed on its own. I would recommend them to anyone who needs to go thru physical therapy."
Aug 02, 2019
From Google
"With reoccurring back problems, Maccio PT has taken great care of me!"
Aug 01, 2019
From Google
"I can honestly say this team of therapists and staff have provided me with the very best care I have ever received in a medical setting. They listen, work with you, are incredibly compassionate, and made a trying/painful time, quite enjoyable. I loved going to PT! How many people can say that? If you have been told that there's nothing that can be done to help your orthopedic issue, or are tired of spending $1000s on Dr visits, PT sessions, supplements, etc. that don't actually improve your pain levels/daily functioning, do yourself a favor and GO TO MACCIO! Once you go and see results- spread the word! Tell the people you know who are in pain to seek out Maccio or a McKenzie Method in practice in their area- because it WORKS. Happy Healing!"
Jul 30, 2019
From Google
"Staff is so nice and very helpful. Dr Maccio was so thorough and compassionate. I was told by my primary Dr that my back pain was due to me weight. My pain started 4 years ago while pregnant with my daughter. Even after having her I was still in pain. The pain effected my sleep, walking, lifting, sitting and standing. After 3 appts I am now pain free if I stick to my exercises. I found out my back was stuck in the arch we do while pregnant. I am so happy and I would recommend Dr Maccio to everyone."
Jul 25, 2019
From Google
"Joe and everyone there at Maccio PT are the best! I suffered with neck pain and migraines for over 20 years. Joe worked with me and showed me some exercises that have really helped. I am now basically pain free and able to manage any neck pain I do get on my own. I highly recommend Maccio PT!"
Jul 11, 2019
From Google
"I went to Maccio PT after a visit to the OrthoNY urgent care visit for sever shoulder pain that radiated down thru my wrist. Dr Lindsay got me moving, gave me the tools to correct my issue and gave me more tricks and tools that i can keep with me even after discharge. Thanks guys, you all rock!"
Jul 09, 2019
From Google
"I made a full recovery after a few weeks of PT following a shoulder injury. Would definitely recommend to anyone in need of PT in Troy. Awesome staff and very convenient for RPI students."
Jul 09, 2019
From Google
"Friendly staff who are committed to helping you!"
Jun 26, 2019
From Google
"The staff are amazing! I went in with almost no range of motion after a break and when I finished I had complete range of motion back! I can't recommend them enough!"
Jun 26, 2019
From Google
"Real relief and committed staff. You may be skeptical, as was I, if physical therapy can work for your injury. Why can't I just get a cortisone shot to make the pain disappear? Then I will be back on my exercise program in no time. The Maccio treatment experience, thanks to the fine work of my therapist, is a far better and more sustainable regimen than just a shot. Turns out, a cortisone shot would have neither provided little comfort or long term relief. Because of Maccio's fine work and support, I am committed to maintaining the exercise and stretching plan developed for my full recovery. Why not 5 stars? I feel Maccio should have done a better job with reviewing my treatment plan and discussed how the documentation they received from my Primary Care doctor as well as the x-rays and images factored into my treatment. Overall, however, I give Maccio Physical Therapy high marks. My therapist better diagnosed my injuries than my PCP and she put me on a path to full recovery. That's the bottom line!"
Jun 10, 2019
From Google
"When I originally started with Maccio Physical Therapy, I started with Joe Jr. I had severely strained/pulled my Neck and Right Shoulder and Upper Arm, shoveling heavy wet snow and trying to move a 800 lb SnowBlower. I couldn’t turn myNeck or raise my Right arm without horrible shooting pain down my arm. Even to try and sleep at night, I couldn’t lay it straight or put it across my body to stop the pain. I was hot packing it and killing myself with Motrin, which was upsetting my stomach, between that and the pain, I felt like throwing up. Joe started me with a excerise/stretch program to try and separate my vertebrae and alleviate the pressure on the nerve. In just about 3 weeks of visits every few days I was good to go. I super appreciate the help Joe gave me... Tina"
Apr 11, 2019
From Google
"Forty years ago I had knee pain climbing steps so I bought a ranch house in order to avoid steps. The knee pain never got better but recently the pain became more severe climbing to the third floor where I attend concerts. I spoke with Joe who did an evaluation of the problem, determined the appropriate exercise to do and within three weeks of exercising I was able to walk up and down the concert hall ninety-eight percent free of pain. No pills, no surgery! Thank you, thank you, thank you Joe. This is not the first time you solved a physical pain problem for me."
Apr 11, 2019
From Google
"I had a great experience at Maccio PT. I came in with mild dislocations is both shoulders and they treated me effectively and quickly. Great place and very good people. Highly recommend."
Apr 09, 2019
From Google
"With their knowledge and skill, they are able to teach you how to manage your pain in a way no others can. Highly recommend."
Apr 05, 2019
From Google
"I have been a patient at Maccio PT for many years; they have treated my many skeletal muscular problems quickly and efficiently. This last visit for my herniated disc was very quick, and I had immediate relief of my back pain. They always instruct me on how to maintain a healthy pain free back without surgery."
Apr 05, 2019
From Google
"After 15+ years of intermittent sciatica, a colleague referred me to Maccio PT. In a matter of weeks, I was back to full activity, newly armed with knowledge of basic preventive exercises that will save me from the suffering I had grown to accept as just a part of life. I would DEFINITELY recommend them to anyone suffering from back pain!"
Mar 13, 2019
From Google
"This is my second experience with Maccio physical therapy. The first 5 years ago was dealing with bulging disc, acute pain and debilitation. MRI showed , degenerative disc disease, osteoporosis arthritis, spinal stenosis, and scoliosis. After several weeks of physical therapy, I was able to return to an active lifestyle. Now in retirement I try to hunt, fish, hike, golf, and Falconry as much as possible. Dealing with chronic discomfort, I used the stretches and excersises I learned in physical therapy to work through it. After planning a major golf trip to Scotland this spring, I knew to be at my best, Maccio physical would be the way to go. After several weeks of therapy, stretching, and exercising, my back, and overall flexibility have improved greatly. I certainly appreciate their professional help."
Mar 05, 2019
From Google
"I could not be more pleased with their professionalism and expertise in fixing a problem that has bothered me for 12 months. I had been suffering from discomfort in my lower left leg and physical therapy at another provider was not effective. Maccio staff developed a set of stretching exercises that has completely eliminated all discomfort. Thank you for helping me!"
Feb 27, 2019
From Google
"I’ve been here twice and I’ve had nothing but good experiences. The first time I went for my shoulders and upper back, I had joe jr who was training two students: Anastasia and Sarah. And all three of them worked really hard with me despite my lack of doing the exercises they asked. They were patient with me until I was finally able to graduate. Not to mention they had great personalities. I went back a second time after an accident And Anastasia took the best care of me, by being flexible with my exercises and targeting my pain areas. After graduating, I’ve continued my exercises sporadically, but I have found that when I have to most back pain the exercises help! I will always go back if I need to and I highly recommend this place."
Jan 31, 2019
From Google
"Effective treatment and very close proximity to RPI"
Jan 25, 2019
From Google
"They are a very courteous, friendly office. My experience was with my knee replacement, and I had many issues during my recovery, which they were very understanding and patient with me. I highly recommend Maccio PT if you want to have a great result after any surgery!"
Jan 24, 2019
From Google
"After months of pain, and with no successful treatments in view, I was able to fully rely on the knowledge of the physical therapy team. Getting exercises that completely took away the pain has helped me get back to exercise. Without the help of the team I am without pain and back to complete normal activity."
Jan 15, 2019
From Google
Jan 10, 2019
From Google
"I came to Maccio Physical Therapy six weeks ago with severe muscle spasms in my left side every time I coughed. I have a long history of back troubles because of severe spinal stenosis. I have had two back surgeries in the past including a failed x-stop implant and a laminectomy. I had come to Maccio PT my last surgery for rehab. I work out well and i was able to get into a regular fitness program at the gym using what I had learned from working with Joe and his staff. But, as fate would have it with aging, and a couple of accidents where I fell, I ended up with a herniated disc and a compromised foramina which exasperated my condition. So, called the office and was given an appointment within a day or two to be evaluated. Joe, immediately was able to determine what was causing my pain and we began a program to help me get back to a state where I could function with less pain. Actually, the spasms in my side subsided within days of beginning therapy. After several weeks of doing specific stretches and strengthening exercises, I am now back at the gym and resuming my fitness program on a regular basis. Thank you Joe and your excellent staff for all your help and good work. ~Herb Hyde"
Dec 28, 2018
From Google
Dec 22, 2018
From Google
"After months of treatments elsewhere for lingering hip pain from an accident, I found Maccio PT. Lindsey diagnosed the problem in the first visit and within a few weeks I felt huge improvements. Thank you for working at my pace and helping me heal."
Dec 20, 2018
From Google
"Came in with intense shoulder and clavicle pain. Had to stop exercising and lifting every day things for over a month. After a few weeks working with these guys I can now say I am officially back at the gym. I'd highly recommend these guys!! The staff is so friendly and the service is outstanding!"
Dec 14, 2018
From Google
"I was referred to Maccio PT by several of my family members. I had been suffering from dizziness and balance issues that were keeping me from doing many of the activities I enjoyed. After several sessions with Anastasia my dizziness was practically gone and my balance was much better. She even helped me with some related ringing in my ears which was a nice bonus! She was very knowledgeable and I really enjoyed the sessions not just because I always knew I was going to feel better afterward and that she was going to prescribe useful exercises for me to complete to further my progress but because she made the sessions fun. I would highly recommend using Maccio PT services."
Sep 02, 2018
From Google
"Greatly recommend!!! After addressing several of my "ailments" (neck, heal, and shoulder) resulting from a fall down some icy stairs, I am back to 90%+ recovery in short order! I've been successfully rehabilitating through the exercises, and expect to be back to full range of motion shortly. The initial bi-weekly visits, then went to weekly, and bi-monthly as I made progress breaking through the initial injury and well as some legacy scar tissue. Lindsey methodically walked me through exercises, taking the time to show me proper form and technique, and gave me a routine to execute as part of my homework. She explained in detail the physiology behind what we were doing and why (I'm an Engineer, so I want to know these things) (very helpful). I have every confidence that I will be back to better-than-original condition, based on the knowledge and exercises shared, and I will be working from a point of prevention and injury mitigation through the various stretches shared with me. The desk staff is most helpful and pleasant, and always willing to help with scheduling conflicts, and emergency visits. I highly recommend to all! Do yourself a favor and stop in for a visit. You'll be hooked!"
Aug 18, 2018
From Google
"Student from RPI. Hyperextended my knee a while ago and still sustained damage. I couldn't work out or even walk short distances. Now I can do everything I used to do without any problems."
Aug 07, 2018
From Google
"I am a very busy mom of three under 5. I went in to Maccio’s with what I sadly assumed was a torn rotator cuff in my shoulder. I had excruciating pain (that exceeded anything I’d experienced in childbearing!) and was expecting 6 or more months of recovery. I couldn’t move my arm without a jolt of pain and lived that way for about a week, crying some mornings as I faced another day without the use of my arm. A ruined summer! What Dr. Maccio found in my first visit was not at all what I expected—he explained to me that about 47% of what most would say were injuries to the extremities were in actuality coming from the spine! With a few adjustments to my neck, I walked out of that office feeling a whole lot better. Back in my car, I absentmindedly looked in the rear view mirror & reached up to adjust my hair—with my “bad” arm!! I was astonished & texted my husband at work immediately. It was a miraculous healing, to go from such pain to way more mobility than I’d had in a week! By my next visit, I was pretty much back to normal. So then we started on my lower back (which had bothered me terribly through all three pregnancies & continued to haunt me with bad spells). That, too, improved greatly with the exercises & stretches I was given! I am simply amazed! I have the tools now to prevent more back & neck pain! I feel so badly for folks who live with pain that could be healed so easily if only they knew how to care for their spine! The McKenzie Method works! And the folks at Maccio’s are as sweet & helpful as you’d expect in such a place—where so much help & hope is given! I’m eternally grateful. My summer has been given back to me!"
Aug 02, 2018
From Google
"Student athlete for RPI who went in suffering from the aftermath of a spinal fracture. Went from not being able to sit in chairs to getting back into running so I can continue being successful at my sport in just under 2 months of treatment. Lindsay used some more unconventional stretching methods than other physical therapists I've been to, but they worked amazingly and got the job done much quicker than anticipated. Would highly recommend this amazing staff to anyone looking to feel better and get back to their sport."
Jul 24, 2018
From Google
"Great experience! Lindsay Carlton is a true professional. I highly recommend the Maccio Physical Therapy group to all."
Jul 17, 2018
From Google
Jun 27, 2018
From Google
Jun 15, 2018
From Google
"I recently completed my 4th course of therapy. This is a cumulative review of the entire experience. My first visit was to treat rib and related soft tissue pain. The source was a degenerated thoracic vertebrae. After a few weeks of McKenzie therapy, the pain had resolved and I was able to return to normal activities. My second visit was to treat severe achilles tendinitis. One again, a few weeks of therapy had me on the way to full recovery. The third visit was to treat a fairly severe cervical spine issue. With consistent effort and the expert guidance provided, the problem became and remains manageable. The final and most recent treatment was to help with hip related problems. I am the "proud owner" of 2 prosthetic hips. In the course of recovering from the second surgery, I developed severe pain. It was sufficiently intense to suggest that the hips had become infected. After eliminating this possibility, the surgeon determined the problems originated in the lumbar spine and suggested physical therapy. Once again, Joe Maccio found a progressive set of exercises that reduced pain and improved my range of motion. It should be clear by now that I am badly arthritic. Despite this, I have attained a fairly high level of fitness and expect to maintain it throughout life. Joe and the team at Maccio have consistently been able to provide the methods to resolve or manage the various maladies and to help me attain my high fitness goals. They have the necessary expertise and experience. Combine these with a high level of professionalism and personal attention to the patient and you have a winning formula. With all of this said, you must be willing to follow their advice and do your part. Be persistent. Work hard. Don't quit. Work with your therapist and you will have an excellent chance of success."
Jun 14, 2018
From Google
"I went thinking I had a serious problem and Dr. Maccio's solution was so simple. They will be my first call if any other problem arises. Thanks for the help!!"
May 25, 2018
From Google
"I worked with Anastasia and she was super helpful. She figured out how to get rid of my shoulder and wrist pain and I was fully functioning after 3 weeks of exercises and stretches. Highly recommend it."
May 24, 2018
From Google
"Maccio Physical Therapy is hands down the best! I have been there for my foot, shoulder and lower back. The staff is amazing and I had nothing but wonderful results! I highly recommend them to anyone!"
May 08, 2018
From Google
"I am so grateful to the staff at Maccio Physical Therapy! I was experiencing pain from both a shoulder impingement and plantar fasciitis. Now I can sleep, walk and in general get back to life! Thank you so much!"
May 01, 2018
"Maccio was my last resort for my hip problem after countless other physical therapy clinics, chiropractors, orthopedics, and even surgery on my right hip. They worked more closely with me than I had ever experienced at a physical therapy clinic, and eventually through trial-and-error, expertise in the McKenzie method, and intimate knowledge of the human anatomy, they were able to identify a bodily movement that effectively treated my pain. I have since been able to go back to living the life I want without having to deal with physically and emotionally debilitating hip pain. Most importantly, I avoided another surgery, even though I had been dead-set on surgery before starting treatment at Maccio. The McKenzie method is now on the tip of my tongue whenever I hear friends and love ones complain of bodily aches and pains; I especially recommend at least giving it a shot before jumping to surgery."
May 01, 2018
From Google
"I was referred to Maccio by my surgeon after shoulder surgery. I was given a 12 month recovery protocol and my expectation was for a very long, painful, difficult recovery. Before starting PT I was unable to sleep through the night, move my arm, or do most of my normal activities. After just a few sessions with Anastasia I was able to sleep through the night. My recovery was a difficult process with a lot of hard work, but it was much shorter than anticipated with a lot less pain that I expected. I am very happy with my results and recommend Maccio, and especially Anastasia, for any physical therapy needs. The office staff are nice and they are very good at accommodating a difficult schedule."
Apr 30, 2018
From Google
"I was having pain in my right side of my lower back for about 2 months, then Wednesday I bent down to pick up something off the floor and my back went out I could not stand I had such pain. After being on my knees for a while with the help of my bed to lean on I finally was able to get on my feet, I had such pain to stand straight. I could not walk, sit or sleep without pain. Finally on Friday I called Maccio office and they were able to see me that day. I met with Joe Sr., he analyzed my motion and started me on exercises under his supervision. He showed me how to move and what exercises I should do at home. Leaving his office I felt 50% better. I saw Joe at total of 4 visits and the pain is gone. I know that anyone who is suffering from pain will be helped by going the Maccio PT. I want to thank the wonderful staff, so professional and caring and especially Joe Sr., for all he did for me."
Apr 27, 2018
From Google
"I own several businesses and mobility is paramount for me. I began having pain a few years ago in my lower back and hips. Some days I could not walk. I sought treatment through the conventional establishment but found I was only offered treatment through drugs or surgery. My new LPN suggested Maccio PT because I was seeking a drug and surgery-free treatment. She had success with her neck issues from the McKenzie Method. My first visit, Joe analyzed my motion and prescribed extension exercises that immediately reversed my pain and immobility. Within a month, Joe had given me enough strategies and tools to manage and eliminate my lower back and hip pain. This is a blessing in that I now have a drug-free method of self managing my pain. Thank you, Joe and the staff at Maccio PT for the freedom I now have!"
Apr 17, 2018
From Google
"My husband raved about Maccio Physical Therapy when he used their services in the past. Both he and I recently needed PT for knee/back issues, so I can see why he thinks so highly of them. The office staff is friendly and the PT staff, especially Joe, Jr., are extremely knowledgeable, caring, and helpful They treat your immediate issue and then teach you how to avoid it in the future. They even send a letter after PT has ended to ensure that there are no further problems. Both my husband and I highly recommend Maccio Physical Therapy!"
Apr 02, 2018
From Google
"Joe Maccio Jr and his team have a 100% success rate in fixing all of the numerous physical ailments I have brought forth to them, most notably my lower back issues, which from time to time have been debilitating. This is a VERY competent crew, you will not be dissapointed in their treatment of not only your ailments, but also you as a person. A Top notch crew - plain and simple."
Mar 11, 2018
From Google
"Excellent staff and excellent results! I had Anastasia and she was wonderful. Very patient and encouraging. My arms are back in action. I would highly recommend Maccio's for any physical therapy you might need. The receptionist is very nice and appointments are convenient to work schedules."
Feb 14, 2018
From Google
"If I could give Maccio Physical Therapy 10 stars, I would. I suffered from unbearable mid/upper back pain beginning in the fall of 2016. I was barely sleeping through the night, it was difficult to be in the car for more than a 10-15 minute drive, and sitting for any extended period of time produced enough pain to bring me to tears. I tried going to a regular physical therapist, but the exercises prescribed to me were not specific to my area of pain and honestly made my symptoms worse. My mom (a former patient at Maccio PT whose total shoulder replacement surgery was put off by three years as a result of the treatment she received there) recommended that I try going to Maccio PT. After just one visit, I already felt better than I had in months. Joe Sr. and Anastasia worked with me several times a week for months, prescribed exercises that were specific to my symptoms, and did not quit until I was better. My back pain was so excruciating at times that it affected my mental well-being, and I worried that I would be in that kind of pain for life. Joe Sr. and Anastasia have given me my life and happiness back. I feel like a new person. At Maccio PT you learn exercises that are simple and can be used throughout life to significantly reduce/eliminate pain symptoms without the use of any medications. I should also mention that, of the 60 visits I had there, never ONCE did I sit in the waiting room past my appointment time; in fact, I was consistently taken early. Everyone on staff there is friendly, polite, compassionate, and devoted to helping YOU gain control of your pain so you don't need to live at physical therapy. I am an outlier--most people who go there are discharged in just a handful of visits because they are so quickly pain-free. I cannot recommend Maccio PT enough to anyone living in pain. You will not be disappointed!"
Feb 05, 2018
From Google
"I can't say enough good things about the people at Maccio P.T. Not only did they take care of my pain from a recent accident, they also showed me how to relieve other pain I've endured for a long while. It was a pleasure going to the appointments, and I would never choose a different P.T. if needed in the future. I would definitely recommend them to anyone who is in need of pain relief. They know their stuff! Not all P.T.s are the same. They are absolutely a step above and really care."
Jan 31, 2018
From Google
"I suffered from waist pain for over one year, the doctors in my hometown told me that I could not play basketball any more. But in Maccio Physical Therapy, they helped me get rid of the pain completely. Now I am as good as before in court, and I started to go to gym to build up a healthy body. Thanks for my doctors, you gave me a brand new life."
Jan 17, 2018
From Google
"This is the best place I have ever gone for physical Therapy! Pain free after only a few visits."
Dec 21, 2017
From Google
"I had put therapy off for a long time. I don't know if it was a macho thing or I was just afraid to see what was going to happen thing. But from the moment I stepped into the office everybody was so nice. I can't stress this enough. Everyone was so nice. My doctor, Dr. Tranquillo, always made sure I understood what was happening and asked me if there were any questions I had. We focused on the problem and now I'm sad to leave. I can't recommend this particular physical therapy Place enough. If you need i,t come to Maccio physical therapy."
Dec 09, 2017
From Google
"After an injury to my knee I had difficulty getting around (walking, getting into shower..) I saw Lindsay for several sessions and experienced great improvement. I previously had excellent results with their treatment for vertigo a few years ago. I recommend highly."
Dec 06, 2017
From Google
"After l went to a session on back pain,I signed up for therapy.It only took a few weeks to put me back to being myself again. I learned how to help my pain with a few simple exercises. I am so grateful to know how to help myself when I need to relieve my pain,which I haven't had,by the way,since I left Maccio Physical Therapy. Thank you, Joe,Sr. & Sam."
Dec 02, 2017
From Google
"Good location in relation to my job, supportive staff, streamlined process, they provide great resources and tips to help you improve motion and body! Definitely recommend!"
Nov 27, 2017
From Google
"I had major surgery on my foot and after eleven months with two different physical therapy groups I was still not a point where I could resume my normal active lifestyle of running and hiking that I enjoy pre-injury. I went to Maccio PT after hearing and reading about the McKenzie Method of treatment that they practice. After eight months I am well on my way to a full recovery and especially happy about being able to hike and run again. Thanks Lindsey and the folks at Maccio PT."
Nov 11, 2017
From Google
"I've been in to see the Maccios on a few occasions, due to some pretty severe lower back pain. Every time I've called to get an appointment, they've always worked with my crazy schedule to get me in. My pain has resolved as a result of following the regimen of exercises taught to me. They go out of their way to teach patients how to manage their pain themselves, and explain the reason their approach is so successful. The staff are incredibly knowledgeable and super friendly to work with. They've restored me to my normal activity level and taught me how to prevent future occurrences of my back issues. After spending endless amounts of time and money for diagnostic procedures and pain medications that don't help, I wouldn't go to anyone else."
Nov 03, 2017
From Google
"Was surprised how fast I felt better."
Oct 16, 2017
"I have been having lower back pain foe quite some time. The therapist was excellent and with treatment and training I have been able to work on exercises that have relieve the pain and carry on my life in a regular manner. Thank you for the great help."
Oct 06, 2017
From Google
"I only regret that my rating is limited to 5 stars. I had treatment with Maccio Physical Therapy once or twice before (Hey, I didnt go there to work on my memory). The time before this visit I went primarily for vertigo/dizziness and back pain, and balance problems. I returned this past June 2 primarily for the balance problems and secondarily for the vertigo. I had to go back, not because they did not do a good job. They did an excellent job (they specifically being Amber). I had to go back because I did not make the effort to keep up with my exercises on my own. (If any friends of mine are reading this PLEASE feel free to nag me to keep doing them). The balance problems were definitely causing me difficulties. Up until a little over a year ago I was active in community theater. My friends in the group I was most active with were aware of this and would kindly give me a hand getting off the stage (once a few years ago, getting off stage I lost balance and knocked out a window. They now keep it boarded during performances. I am not sure if they named the board after me). What they may not have realized was that sometimes it was difficult just standing on stage for any length of time if I had to look out at the audience. A few months ago I had dinner with a friend at a restaurant. After sitting and chatting for about 3 hours I had an awful time walking when I finally stood up. She was alarmed and I wasn't too pleased myself. It may have taken as much as 10 minutes to get my legs back. So yes, I needed the help. I "graduated" from the program last week (9/6/17). I went anywhere from 1 to 3 times a week. I worked with 2 therapists who area couple of the most professional people I have worked with in any profession as well as being just simply delightful to work with. (Julia and Anastasia)They really worked me during those visits. They clearly knew their field very well and were flexible enough to make adjustments to my routine based on my needs of day. And just as important, they were constantly reinforcing my efforts and any progress I was making. One of them comes from a military family and her instructions had a "crisper" sound to them, but were just as reinforcing. Had a very different impact on me than the "instructions" I got from Platoon Sgt P back when I was in Basic Training long years ago (For any who know me, yes I underwent 6 months active duty with the Army Reserves which was a college co-op job. And yes, this gentle person you know was trained to become a "killing machine" for his country. But don't worry, it wore off after a few months). But I digress. That my months with Joe Maccio and company paid of was reflected in the before and after scores of tasks they had me do in June and again iast week, and on my own ratings of how I functioned then vs now. On the scale which measures balance, for example a minimal level of " Detectable Change" at the 90% Confidence level is 9 points (which if I remember my statistic means a 9 or more point change has a 90% likelihood of being greater than what would happen just by chance), my inital score was 40 out of 80 (highest degree of balance) and the final score was 71 which, they tell me, is far greater than 9. . I have observed other therapists at work and they all have these positive qualities. They are not just "trained" they are educated in the field. Many, including the ones I have worked with have gone through a 6 year program which includes an internship and have their doctorates. So as I said, sorry to be limited to 5 stars."
Sep 13, 2017
"The most accommodating staff. I've been working with Collin and Julia on my neck injury and it's a tough road but my mobility has improved tremendously. They are awesome at what they do. I highly recommend them."
Aug 21, 2017
From Google
"Thank God! My pain, swelling and stiffness is gone from one simple exercise, but most of all, thank Maccio PT."
Aug 21, 2017
"Maccio helped me get through and over 2 bulging disc's in my l5-s1 region and because of that i am no longer having debilitating leg and back pain that was keeping me from getting out of bed some days."
Jul 13, 2017
From Google
"great"
Jul 13, 2017
"I went to Maccio with an inflamed heel cord from excessive use while fencing. Within 2 weeks, while regularly fencing, I was back to 100%. I would recommend Maccio to anyone trying to get back on their feet."
Jul 05, 2017
From Google
"I completely got my body back in order after having my second child by working with Maccio Physical Therapy. They gave me the best directions for taking care of my body now, and it will definitely help me to avoid pain and problems in the future."
Jun 24, 2017
From Google
"I completely got my body back in order after having my second child. Maccio Physical Therapy gave me the best directions for taking care of my body now and it will definitely help me to avoid pain and problems in the future."
Jun 23, 2017
"Helped me tremendously with my knee pain!"
Jun 22, 2017
From Google
"I went to Maccio physical therapy after having recurring neck issues for almost a year. When in pain, I had very little range of motion and was unable to do any of my usual activities. The entire staff and the doctors were nice, friendly, helpful and extremely professional. Here, with physical therapy, they not only helped solve my problem, but also taught me how to prevent and self treat if it recurs. Colin, who treated me, didn't just tell me what exercises to do, but also explained very scientifically why we were doing it which I really appreciated. It gave me more confidence in my own treatment as I understood better why I was doing each movement and overall felt more involved. I highly recommend Maccio physical therapy for anyone who wants long lasting solutions to their problems."
May 28, 2017
From Google
"I went to Maccio PT at 26 weeks pregnant for low back pain that was significantly interfering with my ability to walk, sit, and function. I was extremely fearful that this pain would impact my ability to stay active and that I would spend the rest of my pregnancy uncomfortable and in pain. Joe Jr. was extremely knowledgeable about back pain during pregnancy and was able to give me simple and effective exercises that have eliminated my pain 100% within 3 weeks. He set me up with a plan for the rest of my pregnancy and I am extremely optimistic that I will continue without back pain based on how I feel now. I am so glad I did not listen to all the people that told me back pain is just a part of pregnancy. It can be fixed and Maccio PT is the place to help. I have always heard and known how great this place is, but after experiencing it first hand, I cannot recommend them enough!"
May 16, 2017
From Google
"I had a shoulder injury that persisted for over a year before I came to Maccio PT. During my first appointment my physical therapist identified what had been going on with my shoulder. With one set of a simple shoulder stretching motion I had most of my range of motion back! After a few weeks of continuing the shoulder exercise and even getting back to the gym, I was back to my old routine. I'm very glad I chose Maccio Physical Therapy."
May 15, 2017
From Google
"I had lower back pain for some time. Constant pain that it wouldn't go away, it made it hard to do the simple less things like sitting on the floor playing with my daughter. Lindsey from Maccio Physical Therapy has help me gain my mobility back. The exercises were easy and effective and the staff is very friendly!!"
Apr 28, 2017
From Google
"I have been a patient with Maccio PT for more than 25 years. Every time I make use of their services, I receive excellent care and , most importantly to me, information and education to prevent future injuries. As we age the likelihood that our bodies will experience mechanical problems increase and I appreciate learning how to undo bad habits that cause cause injury and stress on my joints and muscular system. Everyone I have referred to this group has remarked about the excellent care and education they receive."
Apr 20, 2017
From Google
"I had sciatica and was recommended PT at Maccio. All of the staff were extremely helpful and courteous. Topnotch customer service. The physical therapy itself was very effective in mitigating the symptoms. They explained in clear lay terms what may be causing the problems and how the prescribed exercises would help. The instructions were easy to follow and when an exercise didn't quite work They were quick to figure out a more effective exercise. The therapy sessions felt tailored to my specific situation and their problem solving approach seemed logical and made sense to a layperson like myself."
Apr 10, 2017
"I have Parkinson's Disease,which, because of its progressive and pervasive nature, presents unique challenges to traditional PT programs. Julia Tranquillo accepted those challenges with grace, humor and a willingness to search for the right mix of treatments that would help slow down and live with the many PD symptoms. We worked with physical programs to relieve back, neck,and knee pain, programs to help maintain balance, and multi tasking combining them all. Often during our sessions Julia would be the one who was the most tired at the end. I cannot recall one session where I did not walk out of 1 New Hampshire Avenue feeling physically and spiritually renewed."
Apr 08, 2017
From Google
"I had sciatica and was recommended PT at Maccio. All of the staff were extremely helpful and courteous. Topnotch customer service. The physical therapy itself was very effective in mitigating the symptoms. They explained in clear lay terms what may be causing the problems and how the prescribed exercises would help. The instructions were easy to follow and when an exercise didn't quite work They were quick to figure out a more effective exercise. The therapy sessions felt tailored to my specific situation and their problem solving approach seemed logical and made sense to a layperson like myself."
Apr 05, 2017
From Google
"I came to them after suffering from leg numbness and back pain after running. The staff was very helpful in changing things to meet my unique needs. I came in on an emergency visit when the pain and stiffness spread to my neck. They got me in within a few hours and I felt huge relief. After twelve visits I was able to be fully back in motion. If I ever needed to, I would come back again."
Apr 05, 2017
From Google
"I had severe pain in my leg whenever I changed sleeping positions at night. It came from nowhere that I could think of, and I thought probably it was a spine problem. After a week of this with no change, I went to Maccio. Colin did some evaluation motions and concluded it was my hip rather than the spine. He gave me exercises which improved the night pains almost immediately. I continued for a few more weeks to get rid of the less severe pains I had from time to time in the daytime, and now I'm close to normal again. I will continue doing these exercises on my own. This therapy really works! Harriet Borton"
Apr 03, 2017
From Google
"Since I was 20 I have had on and off back issues, never properly diagnosed. I now am 32 and for the past 2 years have had severe and debilitating pain. I gained a whopping 100 pounds from being so immobile and my quality of life was non existent. I had had enough. I found a back specialist who wanted me to try physical therapy, so I looked online and found some local facilities. After stumbling upon Maccio Physical Therapy I decided to give them a try. My results were surprisingly almost instantaneous. I was moving much better within a week. Within a few weeks I was moving so well that I could start to return to the gym which I have not been able to do for years. After 6 weeks of Therapy I go most every day without major pain and debilitation. I was given the tools to work through a troublesome day. My life has been given back to me. I still have to do some mechanical movements everyday, but the few moments of dedication and doing what they told me to do has given me hope again. Now this is a long review a bit long winded, but I stand by this team of wonderful people. I wish I had done this sooner. I had lost 2 years of my life and if you trust in what they say, and do what they tell you to do, you will be amazed at the results you will achieve. Brett King"
Apr 02, 2017
From Google
"Maccio PT has a knowledgeable, friendly staff that make sure you understand the process of how your pain came about, what you can do to avoid causing future damage, and how to alleviate the pain through simple mechanical stretches & exercises (What I now know as the mcKenzie method). You won't find pill pushers or knife jockeys here - if you want to really get better and improve your condition this is where you should go."
Mar 31, 2017
From Google
"Great staff and flexible schedule. Helpful working through my 2nd ACL surgery."
Mar 27, 2017
From Google
"A shoulder injury from falling caused me to seek physical therapy from Maccio PT and am I glad I used their services. Starting with greatly diminished range of motion and severe pain in shoulder I progressed to complete recovery of range of motion and no pain. The personnel here are professional, competent and friendly; really know their therapy. They give you treatment and exercises in their offices and send you home with exercise to do. All I can say is listen to what they recommend and most importantly perform on a regular basis the exercises they assign you. 24 sessions later I am completely recovered and able to bowl a decent game. Also the office staff is friendly, helpful and so courteous. They take care of all insurance billing. Couldn't have picked a better physical therapy practice. Thank you so much Maccio PT !!! Keep up the good work."
Mar 17, 2017
From Google
"I was referred to Maccio Physical Therapy by my doctor for lower back and knee pain. The pain was quite severe at times, so I was anxious to get some treatment. Colin was the therapist who worked with me, and I am very pleased with the outcome. Based on his instructions, I now have a plan for making sure that my symptoms will not return. I highly recommend Maccio Physical Therapy."
Mar 11, 2017
From Google
"After injuring my hip and groin during a hiking trip I was referred to Maccio Physical Therapy by my doctor. The exercises that I was given were geared towards my abilities and what I could physically do. My groin sprain was quickly healed. Shortly after that I had hip surgery to repair my labrum in two different areas. I was receiving a lot of hip pain right after the surgery, but was pushed to continue with the exercises. After a long and frustrating couple of months I was feeling one hundred percent better. Just two months after having surgery I was starting to run and even began kickboxing! These were huge accomplishments that I never thought were possible in that amount of time. After three months post-surgery I am completely healed thanks to Amber! I would highly recommend Maccio Physical Therapy to anyone suffering from pain and discomfort."
Mar 10, 2017
From Google
"I was referred to Maccio's by no fewer than 4 of my friends. After getting successful PT treatment for my knee I returned for problems I was having with my hip which have now be resolved due to the dedicated and knowledgeable staff. I am so thrilled that at 72 these kinds of problems can be resolved. My biggest learning was that I can go to the Maccio office directly and do not have to get a referral from my Doctor or Orthopedic. Howard"
Mar 06, 2017
From Google
Mar 02, 2017
From Google
"I just finished up a protocol for my knee. This was after seeking relief from pain in: my hip, my shoulder, my lower back and the pain that started it all my heel. The series of exercises that I was given were tailored to me! Each time I have contacted the practice I am seen that day, allowing the much needed healing to begin. When I was first seen for my heel I thought it was odd that I needed to return the same week for a follow up appointment. I was nervous that the approach was like psychoanalysis aka never ending. I discovered that frequent appointments at the beginning lead to a quick graduation. I was taught a series of simple movements that when done correctly greatly reduced the pain. Including the heel pain that I suffered for 10 years. The McKensie Method has been life changing. I truly appreciate the Maccio PT practice!"
Feb 22, 2017
From Google
"I am 28 years old and was having debilitating back pain that then manifested into complete numbness down my left leg into my left foot. After two trips to the ER and multiple trips to the chiropractor I was referred by my dr. to Maccio Physical Therapy. After working with Joe and Lindsay I was amazed when my leg got complete feeling back and my foot drop went away. They worked really hard to give me the proper attention and the proper stretches that helped make my back pain and leg numbness not just go away but managed as well. I've been to other PT's before and this was a much different experience where you could tell that they really love what they do and care about their patients. I highly recommend maccio pt."
Feb 07, 2017
From Google
"I had severe back and hip pain for 2 years. It prevented me from working out, traveling, and living a full life. After calling around and not finding a PT nearby who could get me in, Maccio accommodated my hectic schedule and got me in right away. Within days I could move again, and after just weeks of therapy I can finally move without back pain thanks to the McKenzie method. Thanks to Joe Jr and his amazing team. I know I have lifelong support and relief from pain."
Feb 07, 2017
From Google
"After a car accident in 2013, I had moderate to severe pain in my neck, shoulders, chest, back, abdomen, and hips for three and a half years before having surgery and being treated at Maccio Physical Therapy. During that time, I saw numerous specialists and was treated by a total of nine different physical therapists from three separate clinics with minimal improvement. After just one visit with Colin at Maccio PT, the pain in my neck began to improve. It has been roughly three and a half months since I began treatment at Maccio PT, and the pain has almost fully disappeared. If you are in pain, and the medical community is not listening to you, go to Maccio Physical Therapy!"
Jan 27, 2017
From Google
"I'm very pleased with the results I'm getting with Joe. Very happy I chose this practice. Everyone has been very accommodating (I got an appointment for the day I first called). I would highly recommend this practice to anyone looking for a good physical therapist."
Mar 08, 2012
From Google
©2018 Google LLC All rights reserved. Google and the Google logo are registered trademarks of Google LLC.